Furry Fandom 24/7/365

Today I met a Furry, what now?

Today you met your first furry, and want to know what it’s all about, so the first thing you do is ask a friend, who claims to know, but doesn’t know that much more than you do.

He says “It’s some weird sexual fetish, I know cause I saw something on TV about it”.

For some, that’s enough info, and they go through life thinking that’s what it’s all about… except it’s about 90% wrong.

Now some Furries would write an encyclopedia on the subject, but I know darn well that if this post dribbles on too long that most, if not all of you will tune out, so lets get straight to the short and curlies.

A Furry is someone who “describes themselves as an animal” in much the same way that someone else might describe themselves as “Christian” or a “Footy Fan”.

Why do they do that?

Well everyone has different reasons, but a few include “Because I feel it’s my spirit animal” or “I’m a big fan of cartoon animals” or even “My mates all do it, so I thought I’d try it out too”.

Now a lot of Furries are highly creative, they can draw, paint, sew, design, write and are also often good with computers, in fact some people have said that if it wasn’t for the furries, half the internet wouldn’t work, I don’t know if that’s true, but it’s a fun rumour.

So, you’ll see Furry artwork, Hear Furry Music, and once in a while see Furries dressed in costumes which they very often make themselves after months of hard work, think of the work that goes into something like quilting and you’ll have the basic idea of the kind of effort involved, more on this later.

You may have probably seen a furry on Twitter or Facebook, and here’s an interesting thing, Spammers almost never use a Furry avatar, so if you see a person with a Furry avatar who wants to follow you, then it’s most likely a genuine person who reads your stuff and likes you.

But the sex? What about that?

Read the rest at Wolfie’s Blog

5 responses

  1. Here! Here!

    April 2, 2011 at 3:17 pm

  2. Sleet

    This dwells too much on the negatives, even if it’s presenting them as misconceptions or exaggerations. I believe Dr. Conway once suggested that it’s better for the fandom’s image to describe what a furry IS rather than describing what it ISN’T. I can’t say I disagree with him.

    April 2, 2011 at 4:52 pm

  3. Luc McPhail

    Instead of defining a person as a “furry” I really jsut look at it as if its just another fetish people have. I like 2 gay foxes getting it on, doesnt make me a furry and it doesnt make me any different than the person I am irl.

    People like it for exotics, people like it because they like animals, or artists like it as an escape form reality. Whatever the reasons, The style of anthropomorphic artwork shouldnt be what decides discrimination or creed.

    What sets people off is when others invade their lifestyles. IE, if I ride a motorcycle down Over the Rhine in a fur suit, (Aside form the fact of having a ton of holes punched into me), I’ll actually be hurting furry’s reputation simply because it doesnt fit nor belong there.

    Somethings you share, like “Yes I’m a Furry”, but others you keep in the bedroom (or house if you prefer), like wearing your foxsuit with a fox-cock dildo.

    April 3, 2011 at 8:21 pm

  4. Luc McPhail

    Instead of defining a person as a “furry” I really jsut look at it as if its just another fetish people have. I like 2 gay foxes getting it on, doesnt make me a furry and it doesnt make me any different than the person I am irl.

    People like it for exotics, people like it because they like animals, or artists like it as an escape form reality. Whatever the reasons, The style of anthropomorphic artwork shouldnt be what decides discrimination or creed.

    What sets people off is when others invade their lifestyles. IE, if I ride a motorcycle down Over the Rhine in a fur suit, (Aside form the fact of having a ton of holes punched into me), I’ll actually be hurting furry’s reputation simply because it doesnt fit nor belong there.

    Somethings you share, like “Yes I’m a Furry”, but others you keep in the bedroom (or house if you prefer), like wearing your foxsuit with a fox-cock dildo.

    April 3, 2011 at 8:21 pm

  5. Yeah, what about the sex? Everyone has it, not just furries.

    April 4, 2011 at 7:34 am

Leave a Reply

