Furry Fandom 24/7/365

Critter Costuming: Making Mascots and Fabricating Fursuits

Suit from Running Wolf Productions featured in Critter Costuming

If you have ever wanted to become a fursuiter, you may have thought about constructing your own fursuit.  Not too long after really getting my paws wet in the fandom, I decided to research how to make a fursuit.  I mean how hard can it be?  Glue together bits of foam, cut out a body suit pattern from fur, and then take more fur and cut to fit the head.  Then just add finishing details, right?  WRONG.

After assisting a friend on his fursuit head construction, and going out and buying a sewing machine, some fur and foam and more hot glue sticks than I can count, I decided that I didn’t have the skills to pull this off by my self.  I needed instruction.  So I did my research and found “Critter Costuming: Making Mascots and Fabricating Fursuits”.

The spiral bound volume is an excellent guide.  It gives several techniques for constructing a fursuit.  It covers details such as head construction, making a “duct tape dummy” as well as many other useful tips to successfully make your first fursuit.

For me, however, I had the vision, but not the talent.  So after all the failed tries, I turned to having a suit commissioned.  I’ve been mostly happy with it over the years.  There are a few minor details that I need to go back in and fix – my commission was done as a rush job.

After all this, I can highly recommend this book.  “Critter Costuming: Making Mascots and Fabricating Fursuits” is an excellent guide for first timers, and even a good guide for those who have been constructing fursuits for a while but want to step up their game.

Note:  At this time, Critter Costuming is considered “Out of Print”.  Amazon has a few left in stock.

[amzn_product_post]

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Critter Costuming: Making Mascots and Fabricating Fursuits | Furry News Network -- Topsy.com

  2. Are there any other places to buy this book? I’m interested in it but I won’t be able to purchase before Amazon runs out.

    February 18, 2011 at 5:43 am

Leave a Reply

