Furry Fandom 24/7/365

Everyman or hero? Scott J. Fox

01/30/2011
By: Kamden

Everyman or Hero?
Scott J. Fox

Written By: Kamden G. Blackstone

We all know the story. ThunderRoo was tricked and held against his will by his parents. I can only hope they meant well, but were misguided. And Scott J. Fox, a normal, everyman decides to act and help his friend by liberating him from the paternal kidnappers. I don’t really need to re-hash it again. I am not here to do this. I am here to talk about Scott J. Fox. A man the furry fandom has decided to deem as a hero amongst furries.

The term everyman is used in literature to describe a person like everyone else. And I will use this term to describe Scott, because he is like everyone else. I personally believe that at the end of the day, anyone is a normal person, there is nothing that is really special about them, unless they choose to do something remarkable. It is what we do that makes us remarkable, and sets us apart from the masses as heroes or villains. This is one of those choices that made an everyman, no greater then you or I, into a hero.

I have known Scott Fox for some time, and he has been someone that I considered my friend, so getting to do this interview is something that I literally jumped at the opportunity to do. However, I had to put my personal biases for the individual aside and interview Scott as a normal person, not my friend, and certainly not a hero. He would be treated like I strive to treat anyone else, just like a normal person. I must apologize that the interview is not recorded from the audio word for word, this being my first long distance interview, the audio recording is hard to decipher, but I will be able to convey the basic gist of the interview here.

The thing that stuck me the most about this interview with Scott, was the nervousness in his voice. He seemed to be fidgety while he talked to me about this. Often times restating in many different ways his opinions on the questions asked. He even admitted that he wasn’t used to the attention and “how it seemed to come out of nowhere, I really didn’t know how to handle that.” He then continued to say that he had gotten somewhere north of seven thousand mentions and direct messages over Twitter. It forced him to turn off his Twitter account, just to get some peace of mind. I couldn’t help but to feel impressed that he was not making any attempts to puff up his fame in this interview. That at the end of the day, he really is an everyman.

Yet, he was the everyman that stood up to people causing harm to a friend of his. That, is what makes him a hero. He did what others might have been afraid to do out of fear of the repercussions, saying “I wasn’t really worried about that.” He even said that this was part of his nature to help a friend and that he would do this for anyone.

When I continued to ask about why he would do this, he gave me one last bit of advice. He said that we should be the change that we want to see in the world. It was a concept that Ghandi said and practiced throughout his life. A concept and divine idea that still rings true to this day. We are all an everyman, and yet, we have this potential that allows us to reach beyond ourselves, and choice to act as the hero. Scott J. Fox, is a shining example of this story. If we are to gather enough courage, we can change the world. I can only hope, that when fate chooses me to act, that I will answer her call, and go be as much as a hero as Scott is.

Everyman or Hero? Scott J. Fox by Holden Tanner is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

3 responses

  1. Guest

    Actually, I have no idea what the back-story is. Where can I read about it?

    February 1, 2011 at 11:02 pm

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Everyman or hero? Scott J. Fox | Furry News Network -- Topsy.com

  3. mew972

    I wonder if people know that Kamden and Scottfox were friends before all of this.

    February 2, 2011 at 1:05 am

Leave a Reply

