Furry Fandom 24/7/365

Editorial – Answering a Question About the Donation Drive

I have to ask, as I’ve seen hundreds of similar furs cry out for help over the years and far too many of them have turned out to be manipulating the community… Why would you single out this particular fur as news-worthy?

You are not the only one who is skeptical of this whole situation. If you think it’s worth digging a little, you could ask to see flight itineraries and proof of the purchase of airline tickets…


Honestly – It’s because I watched the situation unfold from the first tweet offering ThunderRoo a job, through his flight to Georgia, and then the drama unfolding with his parents and the rescue by ScottJFox.

On top of that, I met him in person once he got to Atlanta.  I talked with him, knew how much this new start meant to him and was upset and outraged that his parents would want to be so manipulative and controlling.

He lost everything.  His home.  His savings.  The new job.  He is now hiding out from his parents and needs some hope.

The people who donated to him have given him a cushion so he can now try to start rebuilding.  They have also proven to him that we as a community care, and with just a little effort, we can make a difference.

Let me be clear in this.  He did not ask for the coverage.  I was contacted while the rescue was in progress and asked if I would cover it.  I said I would leave that up to those involved.  After talking with both ThunderRoo and ScottJFox, I posted the article and came up with the donation idea.  No one asked.

ThunderRoo’s response was very humble. He is really touched by the outpouring of support.

I hope this gives you insight as to why.

In the future, if there is someone who is truly in need, maybe we can help in this way again.  Who knows.  But that is the reasoning.


6 responses

  1. Pingback: ThunderRoo In Crisis « Furry News Network

  2. Its one thing for someone to say they need help. Its another thing for someone be helped. From my experience, the ones who say they need help, don’t know how to help themselves in the first place.

    January 21, 2011 at 10:33 am

  3. So… The short answer is that this item was “newsworthy” because it was someone with whom you had personal ties. In the interest of full disclosure, shouldn’t you have shared this within the original article?

    January 21, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    • Anonymous

      The item was newsworthy because enough people brought it to my attention that something was going on that had multiple furries involved in trying to help ThunderRoo out. I could have said “I had breakfast with him in Atlanta”, but I left that out.

      I wasn’t even going to cover it till several asked me if I would. I left that decision up to ThunderRoo and ScottJFox. Once they said yes, I wrote it up and posted it. I then went back and added the donation button – as I stated it was my idea.

      Was I wrong in wanting to help him out? I don’t think so. I would like to think if situations came up where members of the fandom all of a sudden find themselves in a bad situation – whether it be losing their home and money, to being ill and hospitalized, to being in a natural disaster – whatever the reason, if I think FNN can help, I don’t want to be in a situation where people point fingers, whisper about schemes and motives.

      What this comes down to is I am human. If I see someone having troubles and I think I can help, I will do everything I can to help them. As I bring on nre reporters and editors, I want them to do the same thin, if they see someone in need, lets see if there is a way for FNN to help them.

      Mind you, FNN is not going to be charity drive central – I just want us to be a helpful member of the community. Can we not do this and be a news outlet? I think we can. You see it every week on the news, and hear it on the radio. Someone has had a problem and the station tells everyone what they can do if they feel they can help out.

      In the past 4 days, we (I) have been criticized over how this has been handled. I made what I thought was a good decision to help, and then last night I made what I thought was a bad decision, by listening to those who were critical and detracting, and I took that help down.

      In this, I’m going to have to follow my conscience. If I can help, then i will.

      This really has shown be there are 2 sides to the fandom.

      January 21, 2011 at 3:54 pm

      • When we did in this situation was note that another group was taking donations rather than post a big donation button ourselves:
        http://www.flayrah.com/3180/four-furs-lose-home-posessions-fire

        Frankly, they’re both valid ways of providing support, and I think if you want to organize it yourself, that’s your call. Just take care to explain who is handling the money, who will ultimately get the money, what it will be used for – if you know – and how you intend to deliver it to them.

        January 22, 2011 at 2:06 am

  4. I think one of the things that everyone kind of forgot was that TR didn’t ask for Scott to come and get him. Scott made that decision on his own when we found out what was going on. The same for the donations, TR didn’t ask for them, someone decided it was a good thing to do.

    Anubis Nonymous hit it right on the head. It’s one thing for someone to say they need help, it another thing entirely for their friends to see them in trouble and step in to help.

    January 21, 2011 at 7:19 pm

Leave a Reply

