Furry Fandom 24/7/365

TLC to show "Furry" Episode of My Strange Addiction

My Strange Addiction
Eats Couch Cushion/Furry

Jan 19, 9:00 pm – TLC – The Learning Channel
TV-PG

Episode 7
Name: Lauren A.
Addiction: Wearing a fur suit

Lauren can’t imagine going to a party or social event without wearing her fur suit. She’s completely dedicated to her “fursona” — designing and sewing her costume well into the night, it even takes priority to finding a job.

FNN contacted Kiira to get her side of the story,  This is the response she had.  There is more forthcoming.

I’d love to get my side of the story out. I have left the fandom, though I still do make costumes and occasionally go out in it with my friends who are also furs. I just don’t associate myself as a furry anymore. But they totally twisted everything, I can just tell by the preview. I told them I only go out maybe once a month if that. I never bring it out around people that aren’t furs, and I never once brought it to a gathering or social event. Yet they say I can’t stand to be without it for one minute. I know my video will just provoke the community more, but I do need to get my side of the story out regardless. I’m glad there are still some people with common sense in this world.

Lauren Atkins aka Kiira


Editor’s Note: As soon as TLC posts preview clips, we’ll update this with the new information.
Thank you to @Mizu_Astrum on Twitter for the heads up!

18 responses

  1. Pingback: Furry News Network : Entertainment Tonight Covers “My Strange Addiction”

  2. Anonymous

    After watching the episode, give us your feedback.

    January 20, 2011 at 3:42 am

  3. I wish I could give my support to Kiira in person. I think the furry community by and large were proud to see a more positive portrayal in the media then other portrayals.

    January 20, 2011 at 3:42 am

    • Fatalfox

      I want to give it to her as well i believe everything she said in her real untwisted quote. I want a way to add her on some kind of chat to let her know that we don’t hate her shes a true fur to the end.

      January 20, 2011 at 4:56 am

  4. The episode was okay (couldn’t watch the parts about the couch eater), but my problem with it was the parts that TLC put in white lettering over a black screen. After seeing the psychiatrist, TLC put “Lauren is still obsessed with the furry fandom.” The family’s rather closed minded about her goofing around and having fun in the costume too and came off acting as if it was a bigger deal than it actually was.

    January 20, 2011 at 4:54 am

  5. Anonymous

    Honestly, I cant say I didnt see this coming. While this isnt 100% of the case 100% of the time, I do think that when a media company offers you money, its more likely they will use that as leverage to justify editing things and taking things out of context.

    Well, I guess we live and learn…

    January 20, 2011 at 5:09 am

  6. SemJay

    You know what’s funny is that a few of my non-furry friends were texting me during the show and even they knew it was embellished (I didn’t even tell them anything about the show!). I guess it’s a good sign that even people outside the fandom see past the hype 🙂

    It really wasn’t that awful though. The couch eating woman definitely overshadowed the furry part of the show.

    January 20, 2011 at 5:53 am

  7. Asphyxia

    Lauren seems like a good person. Genuine, and loves to create and have fun with her fursuiting. I’m sure if she does find a job, be it from making suits or a standard job, her family would be less likely to be concerned over her enjoying making and wearing a fursuit.

    January 20, 2011 at 6:08 am

  8. I can see why Kiira has reacted the way she has, but I still admire her for bravely presenting Furries in a positive way. Overall from what I’ve seen in the episode and what I know of Kiira she is a wonderful person and furry and I would be proud to call her a friend or if she’d rather a furiend.

    January 20, 2011 at 4:06 am

  9. thanks TLC. Now all furries are crazy, sexual people, hiding behind suits as a “layer of protection” and apparently need to seek therapy.

    Thank goodness the sex in fursuits part was brief, but it still sucks they mentioned it in the first place.

    I have read on numerous accounts online that Kiira did this for the cash and wasn’t actually addicted to being in a fursuit. Her statement to furry news network kind of confirms that for me.

    Anyhow: it shouldnt be a surprise that the media twisted things around, especially when it comes to furries. Its just what they do. For future reference: if you get asked to go on TV, just don’t do it. It just never ends well.

    January 20, 2011 at 4:38 am

  10. Raymond Night Fur

    I think we should of kept to our selves…coming out to the media no matter how honest the cause always went badly…

    here is a link to my take on the story on Fur Affinity if anyone cares to read more http://www.furaffinity.net/journal/2034913/

    January 20, 2011 at 5:17 am

  11. Dakota Jaymes

    The episode about Kiira wasn’t so bad, it could have been alot worse.

    January 20, 2011 at 5:23 am

  12. Bud Mack

    Yiff in Hell furfags!

    January 22, 2011 at 4:59 pm

  13. Mozdoc

    The program wasn’t as bad as it could’ve been, but speaking from the point of view as having been a handler for a friend of mine who wears a fursuit during cons or during other events like when we went as a group to the two thousand ten West Hollywood Costume Carnival street fair, running and jogging in a fursuit is only advised if you want to drop dead as a result.

    Ask any fursuiter or just be near them after a full day of wearing it and they’ll tell you its uncomfortable as hell and they can only stand to be in their costumes for a few hours at most before needing to seek somewhere cooler to remove their masks. And they aren’t even doing anything but standing around and socializing with the public or wandering the halls of the hotel. Unless your costume is bare minimal, jogging is just out of the question.

    I just cannot fathom on any level that she honestly wears a fursuit all day, every day, and every where she goes without it reeking from her sweating it out in it day after day after day after day.

    Sorry TLC. I’m not biting into this.

    –Mozdoc

    January 23, 2011 at 9:05 am

  14. Slysakura

    Poor Lauren, she never OD-ed on fursuiting, but they just wanted to give fursuiters a bad reputation!

    February 5, 2011 at 12:43 am

  15. Does anyone know where I can find this episode?I have searched numerous sites on the internet and TLC itself to find it. My husband and I wanted to watch this but we totally forgot.I told my husband they were going to bastardize her and the furry fandom…I am sorry to her that they did but hunny they wouldnt have run me away from something I loved. Uneducated people are such a waste.

    February 12, 2011 at 4:25 am

  16. ApSykestheFolf

    at least news stations is broadcasting furs as positive more faster than television shows like this…
    at least in 2010 CBS pretty much got FC, Furry fiesta, and more
    and 2011 fc got put in Cbs’s “eye on the bay” a local “whats happening” show

    Shows, use and bend words for pennies.

    March 12, 2011 at 3:29 pm

Leave a Reply

